icon / home icon / small arrow right / light Team icon / small arrow right / light Priv.-Doz. Dr. Gerhard Fritsch
Priv.-Doz. Dr.

Gerhard Fritsch

Gerhard Fritsch is a senior physician at the AUVA Accident Hospital Salzburg and clinical head of the LBI research group in the field of translational anaesthesiology and pain medicine. He completed his specialist training in anaesthesiology and intensive care medicine at DKH Schladming and the Salzburg Provincial Hospitals.

In the course of his career, Gerhard has held various positions, including as a specialist at Salzburg University Hospital, as head of department at the AUVA-UKH Lorenz Böhler in Vienna, and as an emergency physician at several helicopter bases in Austria.
Outside of his clinical career, Gerhard is heavily involved in science. He is currently leading an FWF-funded research project on compartment syndrome and the role of regional anaesthesia in its formation and diagnosis – a topic that still raises a number of unanswered questions among experts.

In his scientific career, Gerhard has contributed to over 40 publications and has received several awards for his research contributions. In 2008, he was appointed Senator of the ÖGARI professional association, and in 2010 he received the Bronze Medal of Merit of the Austrian Red Cross. In 2012 and 2013, his scientific work was recognised with various prizes and awards, including the David Sackett Prize from the German Network for Evidence-based Medicine in 2013.

icon / home icon / small arrow right / light Team icon / small arrow right / light Priv.-Doz. Dr. Gerhard Fritsch
Priv.-Doz. Dr.

Gerhard Fritsch

Gerhard Fritsch ist Oberarzt am AUVA-Unfallkrankenhaus Salzburg und Klinischer Leiter der LBI-Forschungsgruppe im Bereich der Translationalen Anästhesiologie und Schmerzmedizin. Er absolvierte seine Facharztausbildung im Bereich der Anästhesiologie und Intensivmedizin im DKH Schladming und den Salzburger Landeskliniken.

Im Laufe seiner Karriere bekleidete Gerhard verschiedene Positionen, darunter als Facharzt am Universitätsklinikum Salzburg, als Abteilungsleiter des AUVA-UKH Lorenz Böhler in Wien, und als Notarzt an mehreren Hubschrauber-Stützpunkten in Österreich.

Abseits seiner klinischen Karriere engagiert sich Gerhard stark in der Wissenschaft. Derzeit leitet er ein vom FWF gefördertes Forschungsprojekt, das sich mit dem Kompartmentsyndrom und der Rolle der Regionalanästhesie in seiner Bildung und Diagnose befasst – eine Thematik, die in Fachreihen noch einige unbeantwortete Fragen aufwirft.

In seiner wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn hat Gerhard an über 40 Publikationen mitgewirkt und für seine Forschungsbeiträge mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten. Im Jahr 2008 wurde er zum Senator der Fachgesellschaft ÖGARI ernannt, und 2010 erhielt er die Bronzene Verdienstmedaille des österreichischen Roten Kreuzes. 2012 und 2013 wurden seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten mit verschiedenen Preisen und Auszeichnungen gewürdigt, darunter der David Sackett Preis des Deutschen Netzwerks für Evidenzbasierte Medizin e.V. im Jahr 2013.