Current Size: 100%

Dr. Marcin Osuchowski elected president of the European Shock Society


Marcin Osuchowski, head of Intensive Care Research at LBI Trauma, has been recently elected to serve as the next president of the European Shock Society (ESS). He will hold the office from 2022 to 2023. Given that each incoming president is automatically tasked with organizing a biennial ESS conference, Dr. Osuchowski’s function will result in bringing the top “shock-crowd” to Vienna for a vibrant meeting in 2023!

The European Shock Society assembles a wide selection of scientists of different experience; from basic-science researchers to clinicians, from students, young investigators to leading experts in the field. The primary mission of ESS is to advance the understanding of the pathophysiology of shock, trauma and sepsis in order to improve current diagnostics and treatments (and devise new ones). To achieve this, ESS promotes the exchange of knowledge and ideas via its large biennial conferences as well as smaller local thematic meetings and personal/inter-laboratory communications and exchanges among ESS members. Young investigators are supported with professional education (e.g. ESS Summer School) and mentoring and are given ample opportunities to broadcast and compete with their research (e.g. European New Investigator Award Competition). ESS is one of the seven Shock societies gathered under the respected banner of the International Federation of Shock Societies (IFSS).

The LBI Trauma has a long track record of activity within the ESS; multiple LBI researchers have been long-standing ESS members, Drs. Redl and Bahrami had served as ESS presidents in the past and Dr. Osuchowski held the function of ESS treasurer until October 2019. Additionally, Dr. Bahrami currently serves as one of the editors of Shock – the flagship journal of the IFSS. The ESS/IFSS have been also supporting various LBI research and organizational activities; with active participation of ESS/IFSS members, Dr. Osuchowski coordinated two iteration of the Wiggers-Bernard Conference Initiative on Preclinical Sepsis Modeling, results of which were published as expert consensus guidelines for preclinical sepsis studies in the Shock journal (the MQTiPSS).